AFL Asia is pleased to announce that Stephanie Smith and Jake McIntosh have been elected to the AFL Asia Advisory Board (AAAB) for 2024.

The appointments are the result of a month-long process where AFL Asia accepted nominations from across the globe. AFL Asia is excited to welcome Steph and Jake to the Advisory Board; confident that the future of AFL Asia is in very capable and passionate hands.

Steph and Jake will serve two-year terms, through to the conclusion of the 2025 season.

AFL Asia Development Manager and Chair of the AAAB, Simon Highfield, is pleased with how the 2024 Advisory Board has taken shape.

“AFL Asia is excited to welcome Steph and Jake onto the Board. Jake is well known to the region through his work in Thailand, and Steph is well-credentialled and we’re excited to see two new members, both based in the region. It is also recognition that our AFL Asia community value what they can bring to these positions, and how they can contribute to the growth and development of Australian football across Asia.

“There was an extraordinary response to the nomination process once again. I’d like to thank all of the nominees, and I look forward to continuing to work with them through all things football in Asia”, Highfield said.

Existing AAAB Members Judy Gao, Rod Spurr and Rod White will serve the remaining year of their two-year terms in 2024, which shapes to be an important year for the region as it plans to continue working towards its strategic goals.

The AAAB sadly farewells Grant Dooley and Matt Gale after both served four-year stints on the Board, with both being inaugural members dating back to its inception in 2019. While Grant and Matt may be stepping down from the Board, neither will be lost as AFL Asia is confident they will both remain sound contributors to the ongoing growth and development of Australian football in Asia.